You Don’t Get a Day Off….

 via

I’m tired…..it’s been a long day.  I’ve been going to bed much later than I should be and I’m short on patience.  The kids are fighting…..again.  I’m about to lose it…..

But, as a parent, you don’t get a day off.  Once you become a parent, you are always a parent.  While I’m at work I’m wondering if they’ve eaten their lunch, if they remembered to hand in the trip money, if they’ve aced their spelling test.  Even on the few occasions when the kids are away at their grandparents they are always on my mind.  Being a parent is the hardest yet most rewarding job I will have.  It is a 24/7 job that isn’t all roses and good times.  The sibling fighting and teasing occurs daily.   But, I’m not always in the mood to deal with it…..like this afternoon.

So, on this particular bad afternoon, I take a deep breath.  I separate the kids.  I do my motherly duties, checking to make sure homework is done and showers have been taken.  I get dinner ready and feed the kids.  I don’t necessarily do this with patience.  There may have been (definitely was) some yelling involved.  But once I know that they are all set and taken care of, I excuse myself.  I take my book and I give myself a mommy time-out.  I let the kids know that mommy is going to her room and needs a few minutes.   I then cherish the ten minutes of peace and quiet that I’m giving myself.  And then after I have taken my ten minutes, I am in a calmer place.  Even better, my husband has come home from work just as I am making sure that the kids have brushed their teeth and are getting ready for bed.  I have the rest of my evening to myself as he takes over putting the kids to bed.  Because, as rough as this afternoon was, tomorrow brings another day….I can hope that it goes better than today, but I know the bad days are going to continue to come.  And I will need to continue to cope with these days as best that I can because a parent doesn’t get a day off.

How do you deal with a bad day?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

