Favorite Fall Recipe

I am linking up again with Taylor and Helene for

The Daily Tay Blogtober14
Today’s blog prompt is to share a favorite fall recipe.  When I think of fall recipes I think of chili, soups and stews.  Trying to pick a recipe to post here was really hard for me.  As much as I love to cook, I rarely make the same recipe twice.  I don’t have a huge arsenal of “tried and true” recipes, because I’m always trying new ones.   So, I’m cheating and posting two recipes.  Neither of the below recipes are “fall” recipes. However, they are definitely comfort food, so I thought it fitting.  They are also both quick and easy which I know we can all appreciate.
So, as I mentioned, I rarely make the same recipe twice.  This is one of the few exceptions.  I can’t count how many times that I’ve made this recipe.  It is a whole chicken cooked in the slower cooker.  For a family of four, this usually gives us a minimum of two meals.  The first night I make it, we will eat it right out of the slow cooker with some type of potato side dish (you can try the potato recipe I shared below!).  Then I (okay, my husband, a.k.a. the Weekend Chef) will take the rest of the chicken off the bones and I will then use it later in the week in another recipe (casserole, tacos, etc.).   And just to note, usually when I make this I don’t do the last step of moving the chicken to a baking dish and broiling.  However, I recommend if you like a crispy chicken skin!
Whole Chicken in a Slow Cooker
recipe adapted from The Little Kitchen, originally adapted from food.comIngredients:

Rub Ingredients
4 tsp salt
2 tsp paprika
1 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp thyme
1 tsp pepper
1/2 tsp garlic powder

3 1/2 to 4 1/2 lbs roasting or fryer chicken
2 garlic cloves

Directions:
Combine rub ingredients in a small bowl.

Remove chicken from packaging and remove neck and pouch with organs. Discard or reserve for later use in another recipe. Rinse chicken and pat dry with paper towels.

Rub garlic all over outside of the chicken. Put garlic inside the chicken. Rub the rub all over the outside and inside the chicken. Place chicken in slow cooker and cover. Cook chicken on low for 4-8 hours. Cook until the internal temperature of the leg is at 160 degrees F or use a pop-up thermometer as the original recipe calls for (cooking time will vary depending on the size of the chicken).

Remove chicken and place in a 9×13 glass baking dish. Place baking dish in the oven under the broiler for about 4-5 minutes. Allow chicken to rest after removing it from the broiler for 5-10 minutes.

This potato side dish is so simple, using only a handful of ingredients, but it’s so tasty (IF you love blue cheese!).   This is not a “light” recipe, since it uses a cup of heavy cream but it’s definitely worth the splurge.   When I make this side dish I almost always cook it in my cast iron skillet.  I also want to note that leftovers of this aren’t as good the next day…..incentive to have “one more bite!”
Potato and Blue Cheese Gratin
Gourmet, December 2005Tender, rich, and browned on top, this easy potato gratin gets loads of flavor from a very minimal amount of blue cheese that is added at the last minute.

Ingredients:
1 1/2 lb medium yellow-fleshed potatoes
1 cup heavy cream
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/3 cup crumbled blue cheese (1 oz)

Directions:
Put oven rack in upper third of oven and preheat oven to 425°F.

Peel potatoes and slice 1/8 inch thick, then toss with cream, garlic, salt, and pepper in skillet. Cover with foil and roast until potatoes are very tender, about 25 minutes. Remove from oven and preheat broiler. Remove foil and sprinkle potatoes with cheese. Broil until top is browned, 2 to 3 minutes.

 

Also sharing with:

If you decide to try either of these recipes please let me know how you like them!  They both rank five stars in our house!
6 thoughts on “Favorite Fall Recipe

  1. oh both of these sound amazing! I’ve never made chicken in a slow cooker (at least not a whole one) or potatoes au gratin even though I love it!! I’m pinning both of these!

    Like

Leave a Reply

