Friday Favorites

I’m happy to be participating in my first Friday Favorites! So, here goes:

1.The Skimm: I had read about this site and decided to give it a try and now love it! The Skimm sends you a daily e-mail with the current events broken laid out in an easy to understand way. Short, sweet and to the point. This is perfect for me. I have no time to read a daily newspaper or watch the news, so in a daily (Monday through Friday) e-mail I get a digest of current events. I even got my husband subscribed. It’s funny when we say to each other, “Hey, did you hear about…..” and we have and we both go, “must have read in on The Skimm!”

2. Picture Day: Yesterday was the yearly ritual of getting the kids dressed up for their annual school photo. Of course, the days prior to this were them trying to convince me to let them pick their own background. If I’m spending $42 bucks each for a photo package, I am choosing the background and boring gray it will be! It’s classy and doesn’t clash on my wall.

3. Phone Taps: I have a 45ish minute commute to work on a good day…on a bad day with traffic, rain, etc. it’s over an hour. While I enjoy listening to audiobooks on my drive home, in the morning I’m usually channel surfing for wake-me up tunes. I started listening to Z100 on the school bus ride to middle school! I can’t say that I’m a regular listener anymore, but I have been continuing to enjoy their phone taps. They have been doing them now for probably close to 15 years now and they still don’t get old. Just this past week I’ve made sure to listen in every morning a little before 7:30 to give me a little laugh! Now you can listen on Pandora or from the site. Check it out!

4. My Slow Cooker: If you do not have one, I highly recommend. Especially with the cold weather coming. It is perfect for making soups and stews that cook while you are at work all day! You get to come home and dinner is ready! This week we had this Slow Cooker Potato and Corn Chowder with some biscuits. I used regular potatoes since that’s all I had on hand and it was pretty tasty. My husband noted if we added some clams and maybe a little clam juice it would be a pretty good clam chowder too! The kids enjoyed this as well, so double plus!

IMG_7908

5. My Fall Mums: I was a little late in picking these up this year, but they put a little smile on my face every time I see them sitting on the front deck when I leave and come home.

Linking up with Friday Favorites @ Meet at the Barre High Five for Friday @ Lauren Elizabeth and Friday Favorites @ Momfessionals!

2 thoughts on “Friday Favorites

  1. Yes to the slow cooker! I am basically in love with mine. I enjoy preparing freezer meals that I can just toss into the slow cooker. Plus, during the Texas summer it’s a much better alternative than using a hot stove. I’m looking forward to making a stew when it gets colder. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

